Organisational Structure

The alliance CHARM European university was born in January 2019. Since then, a core team has been working fi rst on the development on the proposal, and now shaping CHARM-EU, our European

Rectors assembly

joan elias
Prof. Joan Elias
Rector of the University of Barcelona (UB) (Chair as coordinating institution)

Joan Elias García (Barcelona, 1956) is Professor of Mathematics at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science of the University of Barcelona. During his academic career, he has combined lecturing with research in the field of commutative algebra and management activities. Elias has led a number of research projects and held senior positions in both national and international networks and institutions. These include his former position as editor-in-chief of the Real Sociedad Matemática Española (Royal Spanish Mathematical Society, RSME) and as a member of the publications committee of the European Mathematical Society. In the area of management, Elias García was head of studies and then dean of the Faculty of Mathematics of the University of Barcelona (1992–1993 and 1996–2002, respectively), general secretary of the Consell Interuniversitari de Catalunya (Interuniversity Council of Catalonia, CIC) (2006) and finally UB vice-rector (2008–2010).

Patrick Prendrergast
Prof. Patrick Prendrergast
Provost, Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

Patrick Prendergast was elected by academic staff and student representatives as the 44th Provost of Trinity College Dublin, coming into office on August 1st, 2011. Dr Prendergast came to Trinity as an undergraduate in 1983, where he also completed a PhD. After post-doctoral positions in Bologna, Italy and Nijmegen, The Netherlands, he was appointed to the engineering faculty in Trinity College Dublin in 1995. He has held Visiting Professorships at the Institute of Fundamental Technological Research, Poland; Erasmus University Rotterdam; The Technical University of Delft; and, in 2008, at University Polytechnic of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona. Prior to his appointment as Provost, he was Professor of Bioengineering where he introduced the teaching of biomechanics into the engineering curriculum, founded the Masters Programme in Bioengineering, and published several hundred articles related to implant design and tissue mechanobiology. During this period he was a Science Foundation Ireland Principal Investigator and held many industry-funded and EU-funded research grants.

Henk Kummeling
Prof. Henk Kummeling
University of Utrecht (UU)

Henk Kummeling (b. 1961) has served as Utrecht University's Rector Magnificus since 1 June 2018. Kummeling studied law in Nijmegen, where he also obtained his doctoral degree in 1988. In 1994, he was appointed Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law at Tilburg University. He has been a Professor at Utrecht University since 1995 and served as Dean of the Faculty of Law, Economics and Governance from 1 September 2008 until 1 September 2014. In 2015, the Executive Board appointed him a Distinguished Professor of Utrecht University for his outstanding academic record. Between 2002 and 2006, Kummeling chaired the committee that introduced the 'Utrecht teaching model'. He has lectured in China, Indonesia, the United Kingdom, the United States, Suriname and South Africa. Law students in Utrecht and Tilburg have elected him 'lecturer of the year' on numerous occasions.

László Borhy
Prof. László Borhy
Rector, of Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE) Budapest

László Borhy graduated in Archaeology from the Faculty of Humanities, Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary, in 1988, and received his PhD in Roman Provincial Archaeology from the same university in 1996. His research focuses on Archaeology and History of Roman Pannonia, Latin Epigraphics, Roman Military History, Roman Arts and Sources of Later Roman Military History. Prof. Borhy has published nearly 100 papers in the field of Roman Archaeology. Currently, he is professor of archaeology at ELTE. Between 2015-2017 he served as Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, since August of 2017 he is Rector of ELTE. He was awarded the Prize of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2007. Since 2013 he is Corresponding Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Philippe Augé
President, University of Montpellier (UM)

Philippe Augé is a professor of public law specializing in tax law, tax procedures and public finances. He was elected President of the University of Montpellier in 2015. Previously, Philippe Augé was Director of the Common University Service of Information, Guidance and Professional Integration (SCUIO-IP) of UM1 from 2002 to 2009 , Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors of UM1 from 2004 to 2009, President of UM1 from 2009 to 2015 and President of the Research and Higher Education Cluster (PRES "Sud de France").

Project Management Team

Meritxell Chaves
CHARM-EU Alliance Manager (University of Barcelona)
Núria Casamitjana
Rector's Commissioner for CHARM-EU and leader of WP1 - Management of the project
University of Barcelona
Padraig Carmody
Project Director
Trinity College Dublin
Francisco Esteban
Vice-rector for Communication and Leader of WP9 - Communication & Dissemination
University of Barcelona
Agustina Calabrese
Financial Manager
University of Barcelona
Patro Hernández
Project Manager
University of Barcelona
Nicole Font Guedes
Communication Manager
University of Barcelona
Jan Haarhuis
Leader of WP4 - Teaching and learning
Utrecht University
Ágnes Sarolta Fazekas
Leader of WP6 - Inclusiveness
Ramon Ellenbroek
Project Manager and Financial Manager for Utrecht University
Gemma O’Sullivan
Leader of WP3 - Curricula Design
Trinity College Dublin
Silvia Gallagher
Leader of WP8 - Model and toolkit
Trinity College Dublin
Jake Byrne
Leader of WP7 - Pilot
Trinity College Dublin
Gilles Subra
Project Manager
University of Montpellier
Katalin Anna Németh
Leader of WP5 - Mobility
Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest
Ferenc Takó
Head of International Strategy Office, Rector's Cabinet and Project Manager
Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest
Conor Spillane
Project Manager
Trinity College Dublin
Celine Delacourt-Gollain
Project Manager
University of Montpellier
Aude Berthier
Project Manager
University of Montpellier