Organisational structure

The TORCH project is managed by the following governing bodies:

  • Rectors Assembly. The CHARM-EU's Rectors Assembly supports the overall implementation of both projects.
  • Vice Rectors Committee. The VRs Committee coordinates the relation between partners in terms of strategy, communication, and synergies among the CHARM-EU and TORCH projects.
  • Project management Team. The PMT is responsible for the overall implementation and monitoring of the project. Composed by the WP Leaders and chaired by the project coordination (UB).
  • Quality Committee. The QC provides an external evaluation on the quality of the deliverables produced across the project.

Vice Rectors Committee

Vice rector Research
Prof. Jordi Garcia Fernàndez
Vice-Rector for Research, University of Barcelona

Jordi Garcia-Fernàndez graduated in Biology and got a PhD in Genetics from the University of Barcelona. After a postdoctoral stay at the University of Oxford, he came back to Barcelona as a senior lecturer and, since 2003, he is full Professor of Genetics at the UB. His research specialties are mainly Developmental Genetics and Evolution. He got the “Young Researcher” Catalan Prize, and the senior “ICREA Academia Prize”, sponsored by the Nobel laureate of Medicine, Prof. Edward Lewis, and the Darwin Prize of the Royal Society, Prof. Peter WH Holland. He is also Honorary Research Professor at the University of Oxford, Merton College. He has been Vice Dean of Research at the Faculty of Biology, and head of the Department of Genetics, Microbiology and Statistics. Since January 2021, he is Vice Rector for Research at the UB.

Vice Provost
Prof. Jürgen Barkhoff
Vice Provost - Chief Academic Officer, Trinity College Dublin

Jürgen Barkhoff is Professor of German at the Department of Germanic Studies in the School of Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies at Trinity College, University of Dublin. His main research areas are literature and medicine, science and psychology around 1800, questions of cultural identity in the German speaking world and Europe and contemporary Swiss literature. He has published widely on these topics. From 2002-2005 Prof. Barkhoff was Director of the Centre for European Studies, from 2007-2011 Registrar of the University. From 2012-2015 he was Director of the Trinity Long Room Hub Arts & Humanities Research Institute and from 2015-2018 Head of School of the School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures. From 2013 to 2018 he led the university-wide, interdisciplinary research theme ‘Identities in Transformation’. He is currently Vice-Chair of the Executive Board of the Coimbra Group of European Universities, and he was appointed 73rd Vice-Provost on 1st July 2019.

Prof. Frank Miedema
Vice Rector for Research, Utrecht University

Frank Miedema studied biochemistry at the University of Groningen, specializing in immunology. As Divisional Manager at the Central Laboratory of the Blood Transfusion Service (CLB) he was responsible for such things as education and research, before going on to become Director of Sanquin Research. Miedema was affiliated with the University of Amsterdam as professor of Immunology of AIDS. In 2004 he became head of the Immunology department at UMC Utrecht. Miedema is a member of various national and international scientific organizations and advisory committees. He has published hundreds of articles in medical journals, including Nature, Science and Lancet. He is currently Vice Rector for Research at Utrecht University. In this role he is active in the CHARM-EU alliance both for the educational focus of CHARM-EU and the Research and Innovation programme that currently implements the Horizon 2020 TORCH project. In TORCH, he also contributes to the Open Science work package.

Prof. Enikő Magyari
Vice Rector for Research, Eötvös Loránd University

Professor Enikő Magyari earned her degree in Biology/Ecology and English translating in Earth Sciences at Debrecen University in 1997 and 1998. In 2002, she earned her PhD in Earth Sciences, and became Doctor of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2016. She started her academic career as Assistant Lecturer at University of Debrecen in 2001. She joined the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne (UK) in 2002, was a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow at Durham University (UK) between 2004–2006. Upon return to Hungary, she joined the MTA-MTM-ELTE Research Group for Palaeontology in 2007. She started to work at Eötvös Loránd University as Senior Research Scientist in 2017, becoming full professor in 2020. She has been the head of the Department of Environmental and Landscape Geography since 2019. She has served as Vice-Rector for Research of ELTE since March 2020.

PAtrick Carron
Prof. Patrick Caron
Vice President for International Affairs, University of Montpellier

Patrick Caron is a veterinary doctor, PhD and HDR in development geography. He is a specialist of farming systems and territorial dynamics. He is International Director at Montpellier University of Excellence – MUSE and Vice President for International Affairs of the University of Montpellier since January 2019. He joined CIRAD in 1988 where he has been Director-General for research and strategy from 2010 to 2016. His works relate to the analysis of the role of agriculture and livestock in rural transformations, particularly in Brazil, Southern Africa and the Near East. In 2015 he chaired the Organizing committee of the Global Science Conference on Climate Smart Agriculture (Montpellier, France), in 2016 of the international conference Agrichains and sustainable development, in 2017 the international conference on Living Territories and in 2020 the International Conference on Global Food Security. He was the Chair of the High Level Panel of Experts (HLPE) of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) from November 2015 to October 2019. He is a Board member of the CGIAR since September 2020 and member of the Scientific Group of the UN Food System Summit programmed in 2021.

Project Managment Team

Raul Ramos
Vice Dean of Research, Faculty of Economics and Business, UB.
TORCH Coordinator, WP1 & WP2 Leader.
Lorraine Leeson
Associate Dean of Research, Centre for Deaf Studies, TCD.
WP3 & WP8 Leader.
Nina Shiel
Research Fellow, TCD.
WP3 & WP8 Co-Leader.
Albert Diaz
Director of the Institute of Complex Systems, UB.
WP4 Leader.
Gaëtan Lan Sun Luk
Director of Innovation and Associations, UM.
WP5 Leader.
Balázs Aczél
Vice-Dean of Research, Faculty of Education and Psychology, ELTE.
WP6 Leader.
Marjanneke Vijge
Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, UU.
WP7 Leader.
Gemma Marfany
Rector's Delegate for Scientific Dissemination, Faculty of Biology, UB.
WP10 & WP11 Leader.
Meritxell Chaves
CHARM-EU Alliance Manager, UB.
Jaime Llorca
Project Manager, UB.
Nicole Font
Communication Manager, UB.
Agustina Calabrese
Financial Manager, UB.
Conor Spillane
Project Manager, TCD.
Kirsten Hollaender
Project Manager, UU.
Ferenc Takó
Project Manager, ELTE.

Inese Rozensteine
Project Manager, UM.

Quality Committee

Saskia Hollander
Executive Director at The Broker.
Chair of TORCH Quality Committee.
Joan X. Comella
Director of the Vall d'Hebron Institute of Research, Professor at the Autonomous University of Barcelona.
Gareth O’Neill
Principal Consultant on Open Science at Technopolis Group, PhD Candidate at Leiden University.
Gábor Szabó
President of the Hungarian Association for Innovation, Professor at the University of Szeged.
Celia Belline
CEO of CILcare.